A Picture a Day, Keeps the Something Something

One Picture, One Story

Last Call: Come Clean

20131104-122818.jpg

I looked out the window at the calm waters of the harbour. I needed to figure out what this guy was all about. I was starting to fear that he had some romantic feelings for me that I would not be reciprocating. I never had any issue with that stuff, I just am attracted to girls only. I used to say that I’d try anything if the price was right and I feared that I may have to eat my words. Maybe he was going to kill me. I didn’t have a job to be missing from, I had just been evicted and I had lost touch with family years before. I really was the perfect victim! I was working myself into a frenzy so I stood up and slipped outside. I stood on the steps, surveying the situation. Should I alert some one? Should I run? I wasn’t sure what I was going to do and maybe that is why I did what I did next.

Time to come clean, man. You going to kill me? I had barely made it through the door as I blurted it out, surprising myself with the forcefulness of the question.

Hold up, Phil! Just take it easy. I can understand your doubts about this whole thing. Grab a beer and a seat and I’ll fill you in. Or “Phil” you in! His nervous giggle seemed to ease the tension in the room.

Got anything harder?

Paul motioned to the cupboard above the fridge and I found a large bottle of gin. I filled my cup to the brim and sat down taking a big gulp as I fidgeted in the chair. Alright, go.

Phil cleared his throat a little, took a sip of his beer and rubbed his free index finger on his right temple. Truth is, a couple months ago I was working construction as a day labourer when a well dressed man approached me. He said he had some business to settle with me and had already spoken to my supervisor about getting me off early. I followed him to an empty trailer and sat across the table from him. He told me my father who I hadn’t spoken to years had died and left his fortune to me. $237, 000, 000! I didn’t know what to do; I thought I might have a heart attack and die. I asked the man what I should do and he gave me the name of my fathers advisor. I met with the guy, Steve was his nam I think, and I invested it in ways so I would never have to worry about money again. It didn’t take long for me to become bored and restless. Paul was now pacing about the room, almost as if he were acting in a play. I thought long and hard about what to do and decided I needed a project. Not just a hobby, but something that would help the community. I remembered this old school house and how it needed to be fixed, so I bought it. I noticed you come stumbling out of the bar the other day and get hit by the car. I went to check on you, but I couldn’t find you in the dark. He was looking right into my eyes as if he were apologizing for some great inconvenience or something. I returned to the house and watched out the window for you as I tried to call for help. I guess everything closes for the night here. I was so relieved when I saw you stand and walk with little ill effects that I wanted to get to work on this place immediately. I had turned back to signing all the documents when I heard creaking at the door. That’s when I saw you through the sight of my rifle. Sorry about that by the way.

I took the last sip of my gin and walked to the window. It’s quite alright, but why let me stay here? You don’t even know me! You aren’t gay are you? Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against it, just I like girls. I felt embarrassed for even asking. I could feel my face turn red and tried to hide it from view. Paul clapped me on the shoulder and laughed. Don’t worry, Phil! I’m only looking for friendship.

3 comments on “Last Call: Come Clean

  1. The Blogging Rapper
    November 4, 2013

    Nice short story lol the ending was a relief hehe

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
