A Picture a Day, Keeps the Something Something

One Picture, One Story

Last Call: Nerves Of…

20131113-140143.jpg

I sat and stared across the street at the clothing store, watching people walk in and out and in and out. I didn’t know exactly how long I had been in there, but I noticed the sun getting low in the sky so I rose from my table and with a new sense of purpose marched across the street. I walked through the door, barely heard the bell ring while I scanned the store. Oh, Hello again! the sound of her angelic voice caused me to freeze in my tracks. I could feel the sweat building in my arm pits and was suddenly well aware of the amount of coffee I had consumed. Quickly I gathered myself and said, I see you are beautiful, but will you join me for dinner? I couldn’t believe what just fell from my lips! I stood there, dumbfounded at my words. I mean…um…Gawd! I’m sorry. I was fumbling on my words like a teenager asking his crush to dance. It was falling apart and fast. I tried to avoid her gaze and salvage the situation, but I was unravelling. I’d love to. was her reply. I looked up to see her smiling at me. I tried to regain my composure as she said I work late today, but if you pick me up at 7 tomorrow, I know a great place to go.

Sounds amazing! See you then! I turned and walked out the door still jobless, but no longer dateless.

I was in no hurry to get home so I strolled along the tracks while the sun slowly faded below the horizon. I heard the distant, lonely sound of a train’s horn as I stood and stared at the night sky. I wondered what I had done right to be there. I thought to myself Don’t get ahead of yourself, and started back home.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 13, 2013 by in Short Story, Uncategorized and tagged , , , .
